DUI & DWI Defense
Are you facing DWI charges in Oklahoma City? Call or fill out our contact form to speak to a reputable DUI defense attorney today.
A charge of driving while intoxicated (DWI) is the same charge as driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) in the state of Oklahoma. If you have been charged with a DWI in Oklahoma City, or elsewhere in Oklahoma, your first course of action should be to contact a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Here at Atkins & Markoff, our DUI defense lawyers have extensive experience protecting the legal rights of Oklahomans charged with driving while intoxicated, and can help you build a strong defense in your criminal case.
Oklahoma DUI and DWI
If you have been charged with drunk driving in Oklahoma, it is important to consult an experienced defense attorney in Oklahoma for professional legal help. Our knowledgeable DUI defense lawyers at Atkins & Markoff can help guide you through the process of fighting the drunk driving charges filed against you and maintaining your freedom. Oklahoma DUI and DWI laws are strict, and the penalties associated with these criminal offenses are severe. By hiring a qualified defense attorney to represent your drunk driving case, you can significantly improve your chances of winning your case and having the charges against you reduced or possibly even dropped.
Penalties for DUI and DWI Charges in Oklahoma
The legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) in Oklahoma is .08%, which means any person operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .08% or more is considered intoxicated under Oklahoma law. If you are convicted of a DUI or DWI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or more in the state of Oklahoma, the resulting penalties are as follows:
- First Offense (Misdemeanor):
- Jail time of not less than ten days and not more than one year
- Fine of not more than $1,000
- Second Offense Within 10 Years of the First Offense (Felony):
- Jail time of not less than one year and not to exceed five years
- Fine of not more than $2,500
- Second Felony Offense (Felony):
- Jail time of not less than one year and not to exceed seven years
- Fine of not more than $5,000
- Third or Subsequent Offense (Felony):
- Jail time of not less than one year and not more than ten years
- Fine of not more than $5,000
Once you are convicted of a DUI or DWI in Oklahoma, notice will be sent to the Department of Public Safety, at which point your driver’s license will be suspended or revoked. For the first offense, your license will be revoked for 180 days; for the second, one year if there was a prior DUI or drug-related revocation within five years; for the third, three years if there were two or more alcohol or drug-related revocations in the past five years.
DUI Penalties for BAC Levels Under Legal Limit
In the state of Oklahoma, drivers who test under the legal BAC limit of .08% can still face DUI or DWI penalties as a result of impaired driving. Oklahoma DUI laws dictate that anyone operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .05% or higher is considered impaired, and that person can still be convicted of a drunk driving offense. The penalty for driving with a blood alcohol content of between .05% and .08% is a $100 fine or six months in jail. Your license will also be suspended as follows:
- First suspension: 30 days
- Second suspension: 6 months
- Third suspension: 1 year
Oklahoma’s Zero Tolerance Policy for Underage Drivers
The state of Oklahoma exercises a zero tolerance policy for underage drivers, which means any measurable amount of alcohol found in the system of a person under the age of 21 will result in the automatic revocation of that person’s driver’s license. If an underage driver refuses to take a breathalyzer test, their license will automatically be revoked for the same period of time as it would if the driver had any measurable amount of alcohol in their system. For drivers under the age of 21, the revocation periods are as follows:
- First offense: 6 months
- Second offense: 12 months
- Third offense: 36 months
Other penalties for an underage DWI offense in Oklahoma include a fine of between $100 and $500, community service, a treatment program, or any combination of the three for a first conviction; and a fine of between $100 and $1,000, community service, a treatment program, or any combination of the three for a second or subsequent conviction.
Contact Our DUI Defense Attorneys for Help
When facing DUI or DWI charges in Oklahoma, it is extremely important to enlist the help of a defense attorney with a successful background in handling drunk driving cases. Our criminal defense lawyers at Atkins & Markoff are familiar with Oklahoma drunk driving laws and have experience in litigating cases involving DUI or DWI charges, which can be a significant benefit in your case. By hiring our knowledgeable DUI defense attorneys, you can ensure that your rights are protected and that your case is handled fairly and professionally.